Home > Libraries > Article Databases > Databases Listed By Title



Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. [EBSCOHost]
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. [EBSCOHost]
Full text articles focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. [EBSCOHost]
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. [Alexander Street Press, LLC]
Contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. [Thomson-Gale]

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present. [EBSCOHost]
The Biography Resource Center (BioRC) is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines nearly 414,000 biographies from over 840 volumes of more than 135 respected Gale sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Newsmakers, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, Writers Directory, and many more. [Thomson-Gale]
Read about the fascinating lives of world-famous writers—from Aeschylus to Anita Desai, from Ernest Hemingway to Émile Zola. Study the great works of world literature—from influential novels, poems, and plays to important works of nonfiction. [Facts on File]
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals. [EBSCOHost]
The Business Searching Interface (BSI) provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research, and then use the results as limiters in a keyword search, if desired. [EBSCOHost]

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. [Chronicle]
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 240 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source, or Nursing & Allied Health Collection. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1982, CINAHL with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. [EBSCOHost]
A virtual library representing 30,633 COLLEGE CATALOGS in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools. [CollegeSource, Inc.]
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media. [EBSCOHost]
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. [EBSCOHost]
Consumer Health Complete provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. You can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles. [EBSCOHost]
  1. Contemporary Authors provides complete biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
  2. Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select collects more than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information.
  3. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
  4. [Thomson-Gale]
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government (EAG) provides answers to the full range of questions that students, government professionals, interested citizens, and other researchers have about the institutions of U.S. government. Based on the CQ Press ready-reference American Government A to Z series, EAG offers thousands of concise, up-to-date explanations of the who, how, and why of American democracy. [CQPress]
Search all the Congressional Quarterly databases at once:
  • The CQ Researcher Online
  • CQ Public Affairs Collection
  • CQ Encyclopedia of Government
  • CQ Weekly
  • CQ Supreme Court Collection
  • CQ Washington Information Directory Online Edition
[CQPress]
CQ Public Affairs Collection features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas. Ideal for researchers and students of public affairs and public policy, social work, government, political science, journalism, and communications, the CQ Public Affairs Collection is also an essential one-stop reference tool for lobbyists, government and nonprofit policy organizations, and informed citizens everywhere. [CQPress]
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, The CQ Researcher is the choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Published in print and online 44 times a year, the single-themed CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Nov. 1991 - Present. [CQPress]
CQ Supreme Court Collection blends historical analysis with timely updates and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution. [CQPress]
The CQ Washington Information Directory Online Edition brings together CQ's wealth of contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations in a single, easy-to-use, and fully integrated database. Searchable and browsable, the Washington Information Directory Online Edition provides verified and updated mailing addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web site addresses, contact names, and descriptions for thousands of organizations?along with letter templates, a customized Address Book, and much more. [CQPress]
Your complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and more. [CQPress]
Since its beginnings in 1974, the aim of CultureGrams has been to foster understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing excellent content. Today the CultureGrams series is one of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference and curriculum products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas. [ProQuest]

Covers the range of topics related to addiction for researchers in grade six and above. Approximately 200 articles cover everything from binge drinking to the role of genetics in addictive behaviors. Also included are additional articles on media representation, drug use in schools, herbal supplements, and more. [Gale Virtual Library]

Over 17,000 titles available electronically for Tarrant County College Students and Staff. [ebrary]
Access to full-text articles from literally thousands of periodicals covering a wide variety subjects and topics. Articles from this database may be translated into various foreign languages. [EBSCOHost]
Contains the standard periodical databases, EBSCOhost Español, TOPICsearch, and Searchasaurus. [EBSCOHost]
EBSCOhost ECONOMIA Y NEGOCIOS is produced in Peru by ESAN (Escuela de Administraci?n de Negocios para Graduados), the oldest graduate school of business in the Spanish-speaking world. This Spanish language database, which focuses on business and economics, consists of more than 60,000 bibliographic records. Coverage dates back to the early 1980s and includes over 200 periodicals published in Latin America and Spain. [EBSCOHost]
Over 5 million full-text documents with content updated daily, with an archive of up to 12 years. Provides materials from six separate media types: newspapers and news wires, periodicals, TV & radio program transcripts, literature and reference books, photos, and maps. [ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey]
Fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Articles include brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations, details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state, and comprehensive bibliographies that include print and Web resources and lists of relevant organizations. [Gale Virtual Library]
This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. The expanded Fourth Edition includes thousands of new entries on trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. [Oxford University Press]
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. [EBSCOHost]

Three News Services: World News Digest, Issues and Controversies, and Today's Science [Facts On File News Service]
FirstSearch will give you access to a wide range of information from the following: web resources, electronic and traditional materials in library collections around the world, well-known reference databases, full-text and full-image documents from databases, magazines and electronic journals. [OCLC]
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide. [EBSCOHost]
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually. [EBSCOHost]

Gale Group contains a variety of individual databases offering articles and information in such subject areas as Literature, Science, Health, Associations & Organizations, and much more. [Thomson-Gale]
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24-7. [Gale]
Contemporary Authors provides complete information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select collects more than 35,000 critical essays on contemporary. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres. [Thomson-Gale]
A master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 138,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 176,000 titles. [Thomson-Gale]
Global Road Warrior is the ultimate business travel guide. Travelers have practical questions:
  • Do I need a Visa for Russia?
  • How do I greet my host in Mali?
  • Where is the US embassy in Oman?
  • Can I use my cell phone in Thailand?
Need answers? We've got the world covered. [World Trade Press]
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records. [EBSCOHost]
Grove Art Online has changed to Oxford Art Online [Oxford University Press]

The New Handbook of Texas is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture. [Texas State Historical Association]
Health & Wellness Resource Center is a comprehensive resource for libraries, schools, and hospitals that provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information through an intuitive Web interface.

Including the respected Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Health & Wellness Resource Center delivers up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Additionally, consumers, students, and professionals are provided with descriptions of and links to several pertinent Web sites, selected for their usefulness and appropriateness. [Thomson-Gale]

Full-text articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. [Thomson-Gale]
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 300 periodicals. Also included in this database is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets; 135 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society; more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); and Stedman's Medical Dictionary, which provides users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. [EBSCOHost]
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. [EBSCOHost]
A unique, ongoing collection of research materials for tracing family lineage and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. [ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey]
The History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more then 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index. [Thomson-Gale]
History Resource Center: World features extensive coverage of the 20th century, both geographically and chronologically, with the addition of new content on the ancient Mediterranean, Near East, Asia, Middle East, Latin America, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. From antiquity to the present, world history curricula is reflected by content from over 2,000 primary sources, 25 reference titles and from 110 academic journals. [Thomson-Gale]

Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s. [EBSCOHost]
Growing collection of over 100 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, including several Texas newspapers. Dates of coverage vary with start dates beginning January of 1996, and a 365 day rolling file for the New York Times. [Thomson-Gale]
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts (formerly Microcomputer Abstracts) provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more. [EBSCOHost]
Issues & Controversies is a comprehensive online source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. It combines authoritative factual analysis, covering clear explanations of opposing points of view and numerous special features, so students and other users can quickly grasp the essentials of even the most complex topics. [Facts On File News Service]

Acquired after the merger between the American Society of Dentistry for Children and the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry in 2002, the Journal of Dentistry for Children (JDC) is an internationally renowned journal whose publishing dates back to 1934. Published three times a year, JDC promotes the practice, education and research specifically related to the specialty of pediatric dentistry. It covers a wide range of topics related to the clinical care of children, from clinical techniques of daily importance to the practitioner, to studies on child behavior and growth and development. JDC also provides information on the physical, psychological and emotional conditions of children as they relate to and affect their dental health. [IngentaConnect]
This peer-reviewed journal from the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) provides the latest information on the many disciplines represented in forensic sciences. The journal's comprehensive coverage includes:
  • pathology and biology
  • toxicology
  • psychiatry and behavioral sciences
  • odontology
  • physical anthropology
  • jurisprudence
  • criminalistics
  • questioned documents
  • engineering sciences
  • digital and multimedia sciences
[Wiley-Blackwell]
The Journal of the American Dietetic Association is the premier source for the practice and science of food, nutrition, and dietetics. The monthly, peer-reviewed journal presents original articles prepared by scholars and practitioners and is the most widely read professional publication in the field. The Journal focuses on advancing professional knowledge across the range of research and practice issues such as: nutritional science, medical nutrition therapy, public health nutrition, food science and biotechnology, foodservice systems, leadership and management, and dietetics education. [ScienceDirect (Elsevier)]

LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Sign in and start on your path to success right now. [LearningExpress]
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. [EBSCOHost]
Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. [Lexis-Nexis]
Find biographical information, obituaries, elected officials, people associated with a particular industry, and more. [LexisNexis]
Retrieve full text company news & financial information. [Lexis-Nexis]
LexisNexis® Company Dossier provides basic and in-depth business information on more than 35 million global companies. [Lexis-Nexis]
LexisNexis® Country Analysis provides quick and easy access to global business content on 190 countries and 157 industries, reliable and comprehensive data on foreign countries, their industries, and consumer trends. [Lexis-Nexis]
Search full text federal, state & international legal materials. [Lexis-Nexis]
LexisNexis® News [LexisNexis®]
Statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. [LexisNexis®]
Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 31,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, more than 159,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), 450 literary journals, more than 632,000 book reviews, more than 69,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 18,000 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 5,600 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more. [EBSCOHost]
For students, researchers, history buffs and literature lovers, there’s no better source than Literature Criticism Online to discover commentary on their favorite books and plays by the scholars of the day. How did the politics, religion and mores of centuries past influence literary critique? Draw comparisons and see how classic works have fared over the centuries via this resource’s easy-searching capabilities. [Thomson-Gale]
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contain the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors. [Thomson-Gale]
    LitFinder includes:
  • LitFinder: Essays
  • LitFinder: Plays
  • LitFinder: Poems
  • LitFinder: Speeches
  • LitFinder: Stories
[Thomson-Gale]

Magill's Medical Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. [SalemHealth]
MAS Ultra - School Edition, designed specifically for high school libraries, provides full text from more than 550 popular general interest and current events publications covering general reference, health, science, and other areas, with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 650 titles. [EBSCOHost]
MasterFILE Premier, designed specifically for public libraries, provides full text for more than 2,000 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,700 titles. [EBSCOHost]
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals. [EBSCOHost]
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE searches abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. [EBSCOHost]
Middle Search Plus contains full text for nearly 150 popular middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. [EBSCOHost]
The Military & Government Collection offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertaining to all branches of the military. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals and includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles. [EBSCOHost]

Natural & Alternative Treatments contains detailed information on more than 180 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 200 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 75 drug categories. [EBSCOHost]
eBook collection is comprised of more than 5,000 unique titles directed for a broad range of ages and interests, and includes a special Texana section. Students and other library patrons may also access the collection of eBooks from their homes or offices! All that's required is that they first register as a netLibrary user from an authenticated computer at the library. Once they receive their unique login and password, library patrons will be able to access the collection of eBooks from anywhere they have an Internet connection. [netLibrary]
The New York Times (1851-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. [ProQuest]
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, and full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. [EBSCOHost]
Access to full-text articles from Ovid Nursing Collections I and II. The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. [OVID Online]
Nursing Reference Center™ is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. This database offers staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty and hospital librarians the best available and most recent clinical evidence from thousands of full-text documents. Nursing Reference Center provides in-depth content from top publishers covering areas including conditions and diseases, patient education resources, drug information, continuing education, lab & diagnosis detail, best practice guidelines, and much more. [EBSCOHost]

Web resources, electronic and traditional materials in library collections around the world, well known reference databases, full-text and full-image documents from databases, magazines and electronic journals. [Amigos/OCLC]
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazines articles, as well as links to more than 1,800 reviewed and subject-indexed web sites. [Thomson-Gale]
Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). We offer ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 2,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools. [Oxford University Press]
Grove Music Online is a compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd Edition (2001), as well as all subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 28,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. [Oxford University Press]

Unique in both range and approach, Philosophy Compass is an online-only journal publishing peer-reviewed survey articles of the most important research from and current thinking from across the entire discipline. In an age of hyper-specialization, Philosophy Compass provides an ideal starting point for the non-specialist, offering pointers for researchers, teachers and students alike, to help them find and interpret the best research in the field.

Articles in Philosophy Compass are published under the following sections: Aesthetics | Continental | Epistemology | Ethics | History of Philosophy | Logic & Language | Metaphysics | Mind & Cognitive Science | Naturalistic Philosophy | Philosophy of Science | Philosophy of Religion | Legal & Political Philosophy [Wiley-Blackwell]
Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,200 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers. [EBSCOHost]
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children's rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. [EBSCOHost]
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles, more than 200 educational reports, and indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 900 journals. [EBSCOHost]
Indexing of articles from over 5,000 periodicals, with many in full-text, full-image format. The database also includes indexing and full-text articles. [ProQuest]
The Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing more than 550 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. [EBSCOHost]

Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc. [EBSCOHost]
The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, and indexing and abstracts are provided for journals in the database. [EBSCOHost]
Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Covers 1971 - present [ProQuest]
Research Starters™ - Business provides business students with a solid foundation for their research and assignments, as well as overview information on topics relevant to their studies. Comprehensive summaries of discipline-specific topics help students to grasp the broad outlines of a subject, realize its real world applications, critically engage it, and locate sources for advanced research [EBSCOHost]
Research Starters - Sociology contains
  • Abstracts
  • a Keyword List of words pertinent to the articles
  • an Overview to explain various topics' relevance to sociology
  • Further Insights/Applications to demonstrate how the points discussed in the overview can be applied to everyday or academic issues in sociology
  • a Viewpoints/Issues/Discourse section to help the reader develop a critical perspective on a topic
  • a glossary of Terms & Concepts
  • a Bibliography
  • a Suggested Reading list
[EBSCOHost]

The Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. [EBSCOHost]
Science Resource Center has thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations. The latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards. [Gale]
Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. [Thomson-Gale]
Two popular elementary and middle school databases Primary Search and Middle Search Plus can be accessed via Searchasaurus. Searchasaurus has an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. [EBSCOHost]
The Serials Directory provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This invaluable resource is made available via EBSCOhost. It contains nearly 212,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; data from nearly 108,235 publishers worldwide, including e-mail and Internet addresses; and Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal Classifications for every entry.Classifications for every entry. [EBSCOHost]
SIRS Government Reporter? provides current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more. The main database delivers thousands of carefully selected full-text documents and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. [ProQuest]
SIRS Issues Researcher is a general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 1,600 domestic and international publications and are indexed primarily according to Library of Congress subject headings. [ProQuest]
SIRS Researcher® General Reference, Social Issues, Health, Science, and Business SIRS Government Reporter® Historic and Government Documents, Directories and Almanacs SIRS Renaissance® Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities [ProQuest]
SIRS Renaissance? - 'Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities' is a reference database providing current, dynamic information on Architecture & Design, Culture, Literature, Multimedia, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion and Visual Arts. Full-text articles are selected from over 700 domestic and international publications. [ProQuest]
Provides researchers with an expansive collection specifically designed to meet the needs of college freshmen and sophomores. [Thomson-Gale]

A title list of all magazines, journals, and newspapers offering full-text articles and abstracts through TCCD databases. [Serials Solutions]
A collection of films owned by Tarrant County College that can be streamed directly to your computer. [FilmsOnDemand]
ProQuest Information and Learning's Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides academic and public libraries digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. In electronic form, Sanborn Maps take on much improved value over the microfilm versions of the same maps, allowing for greater flexibility of use and improved viewing possibilities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years. [ProQuest/Chadwyck-HealeyChadwyck-Healey/Proque]
Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly. [EBSCOHost]
Find all electronic journal titles available through TexShare. [TDNet]
Archived from 1992 to present, the latest scientific discoveries and the fundamental concepts that underlie them. [Facts On File News Service]
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 78,000 articles from 3,000 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled periodicals collection, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, government information and EBSCO's Current Issues database. This database provides full text for more than 1,550 publications, and indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 1,650 journals. [EBSCOHost]
Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contain the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books. [Thomson-Gale]
Authoritative full-text databases offering uniquely comprehensive coverage of poetry, drama and prose in English. [ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey]

Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals. [EBSCOHost]

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage: 1982-current [ProQuest]
World History Collection offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. [EBSCOHost]
World News Digest brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and contains more than 1 million internal hyperlinks and convenient new features such as tabbed search results. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. This publication of record is unrivaled for its depth, breadth, and accuracy. [Facts On File News Service]
Catalog of books, web resources, and other materials worldwide. [Amigos/OCLC]
Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders. [Gale Virtual Library]

Database name

Database Description.
Data Last changed November 12, 2009